The Secrets of REAL YOGA Revealed Here!


Yoga, like Shamanism, is one of the most ancient sciences of personal development. The highest goal was attaining great power, immortality,

and enlightenment. These days, people only generally recognize “hatha” yoga, which is an important yoga, but the truth is that that is just a preliminary yoga to the REAL yogas! These yogas are of the mind and spirit, and are done in meditation or daily life, or sometimes specialized practices. Hatha yogas stretching poses were supposed to prepare the body for life and meditation, not really to be a yoga in and of itself, but a preparation for the primary yogas. The primary yoga text is Patanjalis yoga sutra, from which this information is taken and is a highly enlightening text on personal development that everyone should read as they reach the zeneth of their journey of self actualization. And at this zeneth we attain the highest state of being, that one attains when they reach the peak of personal development and self improvement. This is often spiritual in nature, but does not necessarily have to be. Here is some information on TRUE YOGA!


The Primary Yogas:

Raja Yoga – The path of Psychic control. Raja Yoga is for aspirants who are of meditative temperament with a natural yearning to completely master their minds. This is the most general yoga for personal development, meditation, and many other practices (described more below).

Bhakti Yoga – The Path of (Religious) Devotion. This Path is meant primarily for people whoa re temperamentally emotional and respond easily to love and affection. The yoga of deity worship and the path of spiritual practice and religious ritual.

Jnana Yoga – The path of rational inquiry. This path is prescribed for people of rational etemperament to whom reason appeals more than faith. This is the intellectual path to enlightenment and higher consciousness.

Karma yoga – The path of right action. The path of Karma Yoga is most attractive to people who are habitually very active. The path of purification and liberation. The yoga of doing ones lifes work and of service.

Mantra Yoga – The Yoga of concentrating the mind on specific formulas/sounds and invocations in order to produce certain effects.

Tantra Yoga – The practical yoga of sacred sexuality.


Pratanjali’s Eight step discipline to Yoga:

1. Yama: restraining harmful thoughts and impulses.
a. Non-killing
b. Truthfulness
c. Non-stealing
d. Celebacy
e. Non-acceptance of un-necessary gifts
2. Niyama: cultivating good habits
a. Keeping the body and mind clean
i. Purity/Mindfulness
ii. The three gunas:
1. Sattwa – light
2. Rajas – action
3. Tamas – inertia
iii. Samskaras – the impressions of past thoughts (& Eliminating them)
iv. Physical cleanliness
b. Being content with bare necessities of life
c. Physical and mental austerity
i. Three types of austerity (restraint):
1. Austerity of body
2. austerity of speech
3. austerity of mind
d. Regular study of scruptures and chanting of Swadhyaya (the holy name of god)
e. Ishwara-pranidhana – the practice of surrendering to god
3. Asana: Learning sitting postures suitable for prolonged contemplation
a. Padmasana (Lotus Posture)
b. Vajrasana
c. Seated upright in a chair
4. pranayama: Learning the technique of rhythmic breathing.
5. Pratyahara: withdrawing the senses from their objects of enjoyment. Withdrawal of attention from the senses.
6. Dharana: Taming the mind & Fixing it on the object of contemplation. Concentration of consciousness on the object. Objective Observation.
7. Dhyana: Uninterrupted contemplation. meditation. Being absorbed into this objectivism.
8. Samadhi: Total absorption of the mind into the object of contemplation & becoming one with the universe through it (as in samyama). Merging & dissolution of subject & object. Only the pure universal consciousness remains. Oneness.


Obstacles to Yoga and Meditation

Obstacles mentioned in Vedantasara:
1: Laya – Sleep
2: Vikshepa – Wandering of the Mind
3: Kashaya – Reluctance to practice meditation
4: Rasa-Swada – Getting stuck in an intermediate joyful spiritual experience

9 Obstacles mentioned by Pratanjali:
1. Vyadhi – Disease
2. Styana – Lack of interest
3. Samshaya – Doubt
4. Pramada – Delusion
5. Alasya –Lethargy
6. Avirati – Reluctance to give up sense pleasures
7. Bhranti-darshana – Erroneous conception
8. Alabdha-bhumikatwa – non-attainment of any level of concentration
9. Anavasthitatwa – inability to retain a level of concentration once attained

Five more subtle obstacles recognized by Pratanjali:
1. Avidya – Ignorance of ones inherent divine nature
2. Asmita – Egoism
3. Raga – Attachment
4. Dwesha – Aversion
5. Abhinivesha – Clinging to Life

Other Obstacles

1. Temptation
2. Bhaya-Bhairava – Intense Fear

Four Physical and mental disturbances caused by an unconcentrated mind

1. Duhkha – Grief
2. Daurmanasya – Despair
3. Anga==mejayatwa – Involuntary nervous trembling of the body
4. Shwasa-prashwasa-vikshepa – Irregular breathing

Hazards in meditation

Danger caused by the keen mind of an advanced student of meditation
Danger of being critical of others
Hazards of Craving praise and appreciation
Hazards of supernatural powers gained through the practice of meditation (siddhi’s)


For more information on esoteric yogas and other secret spiritual practices for your personal development and self actualization check out my Law of Attraction Workshop and stay tune for the launching of the spiritual division of True Life Development, True Life Spirituality, in 2014!

Leave a Reply